The inaugural Iwi-Māori Partnership Board has been chosen that will play a vital role in the design and delivery of health services for Hawke’s Bay under the newly-reformed health system.

The eight-member Board known as Tihei Tākitimu Partnership Board (TTPB) will work closely with the Māori Health Authority and Health NZ assessing the health needs of whānau, identifying priorities and monitoring the services provided.

Waylyn Tahuri-Whaipakanga, chairperson of the Board’s Establishment Steering Group  and CEO of Te Taiwhenua o Heretaunga, says the TTPB, which is a mix of iwi members, mātāwaka (from other tribal groupings outside HB) and health professionals, “shares a commitment and dedication to improving Māori health with a strong community focus.”

The Board members are:

Beverly Te Huia – Chair for Ngā Maia Māori Midwives Aotearoa and member of Midwife Choices;

Darryn Russell – Chief Executive at Heretaunga Tamatea Settlement;

Lewis Ratapu – (interim chair) General Manager Tatau Tatau o te Wairoa;

Coralee Thompson – Advisor Māori Health at Health Hawke’s Bay;

Kerri Nuku – Kaiwhakahaere (Governance Leader) for the New Zealand Nurses Organisation (NZNO);

Heather Skipworth – Founder of IronMāori and former HBDHB Board Member;

Henry Heke – General Manager, Māori Health, Health Hawke’s Bay;

Tania Eden – CEO at Te Whanganui a Orotū.


Source | Bay Buzz – Tihei Tākitimu Partnership Board announced – BayBuzz